top of page

Winter Cup 4th Qualifying Round

Winter League

The 4th of the 6 qualifying rounds of the 2024 Winter Cup was played at Netherton Cons on Friday to close the season's activity on this green. What a closure it was as well as the green notorious in Winter League history as the green with the worst weather record of any of the six host greens. That record was enhanced by a cacophony of wild weather ranging from sunshine to heavy rain to hailstones and then a rainbow appeared to soothe the beaded brows of the bowlers.

These two photos from Robert Tracey show the hailstone impact on the green as Mick Addy (Mirfield A) and Chris Windle (Springwood C) take on each other as well as the elements with Mick eventually running out the 21-19 winner.

Every game result is listed below which shows that the four qualifiers are Michael Wood (Brockholes A), Chris Jepson (Outlane), Michael Dibb (Outlane) and Derek Hey (Jackson Bridge). All four will start with a +5 handicap which will make them a real threat to any scratch bowler they meet in the Round of the Last 24. This will be held at Lindley Lib on Wednesday 10 April with a 1.00pm start time. The last eight from the two rounds scheduled then will go through to Finals Day again to be staged at Lindley Lib on Sunday 14 April.

WINTER CUP 2024 Division 5 Qualifying Round

The full set of results for all the qualifying rounds to date also appear on our Bowlsnet pages. Just click on COMPS from the top banner menu.

The final two Qualifying Rounds will be held at Milnsbridge (Division 1) and Springwood (Division 2) on Wednesday 6 March with an 11.30am start time.

The qualifiers to date are: Division 3: Andy Balmforth (Hanging Heaton), Steve Mallinson, Julie Mallinson and Lynn Carter (all Marsh United).

Division 4 Sue Hallas (Thorpe Green), Simon Neve (Almondbury BC A), Graham Parr (Milnsbridge C) and Mark Warrender (New Mill B) Division 5: Michael Wood (Brockholes A), Chris Jepson (Outlane), Michael Dibb (Outlane) and Derek Hey (Jackson Bridge).

Division 6: Robert Spencer (Linthwaite Hall), Russ Auty (Broad Oak), Nigel Roebuck (HRUFC) and Jean Winchcombe (Linthwaite Hall)

Divisions 3 & 4 qualifiers will start with a +3 handicap Divisions 5 & 6 qualifiers will start with a +5 handicap

126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page