top of page

What would you do?

Bowling News


I have received this scenario from a source who wishes to remain anonymous to save any embarrassment to either bowler as it happened recently in a local match.


If you were the match referee and this happened what would you do?


1.. Bowler A throws off the jack.

2. Bowler B then sets a mark with the jack but bowls his own bowl ( I stress not his opponents bowl) out of turn.

3. Bowler A draws attention to this.

4. Bowler B then goes to fetch his own bowl and also brings back the jack.

5. Much confusion on the green and among the spectators.

6. Bowler A now says that he should have the jack and proceeds to set a mark and bowls his first bowl.

7. Bowler B forfeits one of his own bowls and only bowls one bowl.


What should have happened?


Maybe one of the referees that read the website would care to put their head above the parapet?

4 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bernietoonref
May 09, 2023

There isn’t a specific rule to cover this scenario… one would hope that common sense and courtesy prevailed.

GOLDEN RULE

You can only bowl with your own woods.. not your opponents or your partners if in a prs .. if you bowl someone else’s wood YOU lose a wood.

If you bowl out of turn you have your wood back to be played in turn.

In this scenario the first mistake was the out of turn wood ( genuine mistake) .. the second was ‘B’ retrieving the jack .. (genuine mistake in the confusion), it should have stayed in place .. unless agreed by both players that it be brought back for ‘B’ to resend it then ‘A’ to bowl…


Like

g.chapman5
May 08, 2023

As the wood bowled by bowler B is bowled out of turn it should have been returned to bowler B and bowler A should have bowled his first bowled then the end continue as normal

Like

Karen Rausse
Karen Rausse
May 08, 2023

Having looked through the rules , I can't see an answer that everyone would agree too, my opinion would be bowler A to take the jack again and carry on as normal, to set a mark and throw his wood then B to throw his wood as normal , but B not to loose the second wood

Ps in the first place it was a mistake by the B bowler

Like

Glynis Philbin
Glynis Philbin
May 07, 2023

Ok firstly bowler A is responsible for making sure bowler B doesn't send his wood, which is purely a mistake, and does happen. So he went to fetch his wood, he should have left the jack. As he brought back the jack he should have then been allowed to attempt to set a mark. Then bowler A could send his first bowl, then B , then A s second and Bs second.

Like

 

bottom of page