top of page

What is the correct decision?

Bowling News


A post-match query on the correct calling of a certain situation as forwarded by Philip Walker.


This happened in a game yesterday.

In a doubles match, three woods had been bowled. A bowl from another doubles game made contact with one of the three woods which in turn hit the Jack causing it to move about 6 inches. The new position of the Jack did not change the position of the end.

Should the dislodged wood and the Jack be put back to where they were and the game continue? Or, should the end be started again ?


We have a number of referees that visit the site so maybe one of those would like to offer the correct answer although maybe one of our senior or more knowledgeable members could also offer the solution to this rules query.

2 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
richardpearcey
richardpearcey
Aug 18, 2021

Rule 7.4 says that if the jack or any bowl is displaced by an exterior cause, eg a bowl from another game, then the displaced bowls and/or jack should be replaced in their original positions, if the players can agree those positions. If they cannot agree on the positions then the end is void

Like
Karen Rausse
Karen Rausse
Aug 19, 2021
Replying to

This is correct Richard

Like

 

bottom of page