Weston Park Trophy goes West

Bowling News

Weston Park Trophy 2022 From Liam Sykes

First of all can I please say a huge thank you to all spectators and players who remained to the end of the night through the adverse weather to provide some atmosphere for the latter stages of the competition?

Some thank-yous that I missed in my speech last night (apologies) firstly to Duncan Reeves for running the book for us on the day, with some of the results I hope you've come away from it positively!

To the members of Brockholes Bowling Club for their support this year this competition has been a real club effort and the day simply wouldn't run without you and your help with marking cards and measuring. Also Peter Beaumont the greenkeeper for his dedication to keeping such an immaculate surface as usual.

David Sykes, the man behind the scenes of this competition always keeping me in check and making sure things are going smoothly, ended up marking countless cards on the day despite the freezing cold weather, and for providing the scorecards and printouts on the day.

To Nigel Beecroft for supplying us with the food from which we've done so well for the charity.

This competition as you will all know is run predominantly for charity and all proceeds go in support of Weston Park Hospital Cancer Charity. A rough estimate this morning is that we have raised around £800 from food, raffle and programme sales, thanks to all who have contributed to this effort it honestly means a huge amount to us.

Not to mention, the club took around £1,100 over the bar which as you'll all know is vital for a small village bowling club, thank you all again.

Lastly, the players on the day for putting on such a fantastic standard of bowling. To see so many top players bringing their best to win this trophy in memory of my Dad is a huge privilege. With that, I was honoured to present Paul Dudley from Radcliffe with this year's trophy and £1,000 first prize after defeating Jack Dyson in the final, which on Brockholes is a monumental achievement.

Once again thank you all and I hope to see you all again next year.

Full results from the day as follows:

Last 16 Stuart Mort 02-21 Jack Dyson Andrew Jones 21-18 Greg Smith Andrew Deighton 21-17 Dave Worthington Mark Hughes 16-21 Gary Siswick James Wilcox 15-21 Paul Dudley Christopher Mordue 21-15 Ryan Clark Callum Wraight 21-17 Scott Fisher Paul Wilczynski 21-12 Matt Gilmore

Last 8 Dyson 21-11 Jones Deighton 09-21 Siswick Dudley 21-19 Mordue Wraight 21-18 Wilcynski

Semi-Finals Dyson 21-17 Siswick Dudley 21-18 Wraight

Final Dyson 19-21 Dudley

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All