top of page

The reformatted Hickson Trophy 2023

Veterans League

The Hickson Trophy has traditionally been a one-day knock-out competition for eight Inter-District 8-man teams hosted by a different District each year. Last year it was hosted by Skipton with Sheffield running out the eventual winners and this year Halifax are the hosts. The decision has been taken to change the format for the 2023 season.

The reason for change is solid after last year's experiences resulted in the two finalists starting their first match at 10am and coming off the green at 9.30pm having played three full matches at three different venues with travelling time to factor in between each.

The new format involves four major changes:

  • The competition will now be played over 2 days;

  • Day 1 will see 4 groups of 3 teams play a Round Robin format on the same green;

  • The winners of each group will progress to the KO Semi-Finals to be played on Day 2 followed by the Final on another green;

  • The age of bowlers in the competition has been changed to Over-60s to bring it in line with the Inter-District League competition.

The number of teams entered faltered after the pandemic but now West Riding and Leeds have rejoined the competition along with new interest from Harrogate as well as Aire & Wharfe who have never played in the competition before. That takes the number up to 12 with the competition starting on Friday 7 July 2023 when the Round Robin matches will be played. The Semi-Finals and Final will be played the following week on Friday 14 July 2023.

The competition has traditionally been a one-day knock-out competition with quarter-finals through to the final but with 12 entrants this is not possible so a Round Robin format has been adopted and the group stages are being held on 7 July. Four groups of 3 are playing with the winner of each group going through to the semi-finals on 14 July. The 2023 hosts are Halifax and the draw for the Round Robin phase has been made and is produced in full below.

Group 1 is (a) Castleford, (b) Aire & Wharfe, (c) Wakefield playing at Hipperholme Bowling Club HX3 3EZ.

Group 2 is (a) Leeds, (b) Halifax, (c) Barnsley playing at Rastrick Bowling Club HX6 3EZ.

Group 3 is (a) Huddersfield, (b) Bradford, (c) West Riding playing at Hillcrest Bowling Club HX6 2EX.

Group 4 is (a) Harrogate, (b) Sheffield, (c) Skipton playing at Hove Edge Bowling Club HD6 2QJ.

Matches start at 10 am with A playing B and the losers playing C with the final match being with C and the winners of A v B.

The semi-finals are on 14 July starting at 11 am with the Winners of Group 1 playing the Winners of Group 2 at Mytholmroyd Bowling Club HX7 5DS, The winners of Group 3 take on the winners of Group 4 at Sowerby West End Bowling Club HX6 3BB.

The final will be played at Elland Working Mens Club HX5 0HT starting at 3 o’clock.

137 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


評等為 0(最高為 5 顆星)。

bottom of page