top of page

The Laws of the Game FAQ

Bowling News

The BCGBA website includes a section for BCGBA Referees and in there is a list of FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) about the Laws of the Game. We have reproduced those FAQ along with the answers below. If you have another question about the Laws of the Game you would like to ask then drop us a line and we will pass it on to one of the number of referees who are members of HuddWeb.

Q1: The leader in a pairs match sends their partner’s bowl. What are the consequences of doing so. Law 5.13 states that if a player ‘delivers a bowl of another player …. the offender forfeiting a bowl’. Therefore, the player will forfeit a bowl and any subsequent bowls sent after the offending bowl are returned to be played in their proper order. If the player’s first bowl is forfeited, then they send their remaining bowl with their immediate opponent sending two bowls consecutively (Law 5.8) and if they have forfeited their second bowl the immediate opponent sends their remaining bowl. (The above procedure gets involved if the leader’s error is not discovered until their partner has to send their second bowl. Which bowl did the leader send in error, the 1st, or the 2nd, and therefore, how many bowls must be returned?)

Q2: The leader forfeits the jack, e.g. not setting a mark, sending jack off the green, and following the opponent’s delivery of the jack the opponent delivers their bowl after the jack stops moving. Does the opponent forfeit their bowl. No. Under Definitions D.1.a the Leader must deliver the first bowl after any attempt to set a mark. The opponent sending their bowl first means the bowl was sent out of turn and therefore must be returned to be played in its proper order.

Q3: When does an ‘end’ begin? An ‘end’ begins when the leader delivers the jack for their first attempt to set a mark. The ’end’ finishes, is complete, when the score is declared, or no score can be given, i.e. a ‘dead’ end or a ‘void’ end.

Q4: After a ‘dead’ end or ‘void’ end, i.e. no points awarded, who has the first attempt to set the mark for the new ‘end’? The first attempt for the ‘new end’ is made by the player who set the mark in the ‘dead/void end’ but the leader, the player who scored the last point before the ‘dead/void end’, will deliver the first bowl to the jack.

Q5: A jack from game 2 stops in the land of game 1. Can the opponent, who is standing behind the leader in game 1, call ‘Jack Up’?

Yes, any player in game 1, even players 3 & 4 in a pairs game, can call ‘Jack Up’. This applies even if a bowl from game 2 has been delivered.

Q6: Does the opponent have to deliver their second bowl if the leader’s bowls are out of play? No. Law 3.1 A bowl must be played at least three metres from the footer, and rest on the green to count, except when all the bowls of the opponent(s) are out of play.

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page