top of page

Kirkheaton Con 64 title goes South

Club News Kirkheaton Con 64 Finals Day

Shrewsbury bowler Callum Wraight lifted the Kirkheaton Con 64 title last night by beating Preston's Simon Coupe 21-17 in the final at a packed floodlit venue late in the evening. The bookie had done his homework as he had the two finalists as the top two in the betting at the start of the evening with Simon Coupe as the 9/4 favourite, closely followed by the winner at 5/2. Both bowlers were making their second appearance in the competition with neither passing the quarter-finals before but it was a different story this year.

The Shropshire star added the £800 first prize to his impressive list of wins which includes the 2020 Gambert Baines in an evening of top class bowling. The two heavyweights had previously met in the semi-finals of the 2019 Spen Masters when Simon ran out a 21-7 winner but there was to be no repeat of that on the very different Kirkheaton green.

Callum had a very challenging path to the final beating two previous winners on the night. He overcame 2019 winner Scott Fisher 21-12 in the last 16 and then 2016 Champion Wayne Moseley 21-17 in the quarter-finals. Then the two former BCGBA Champion-of-Champions (Callum in 2015 and Simon 2014) went head to head before Callum ran out as the sixth winner of this increasingly prestigious competition.


Last 16

Scott Fisher 12-21 Callum Wraight

Josh Mordue 20-21 Wayne Moseley

Mark Regan 16-21 James Wilcox

Stuart Thompson 13-21 Scott Taylor

James Martin 11-21 Adam Jones

Daniel Sillitoe 12-21 Simon Coupe

Gareth Coates 14-21 Neil Slattery

Ryan Clarke 8-21 Noel Whitaker



Callum Wraight 21-17 Wayne Moseley

James Wilcox 13-21 Scott Taylor

Adam Jones 17-21 Simon Coupe

Neil Slattery 9-21 Noel Whitaker


Semi-Finals Callum Wraight 21-20 Scott Taylor

Simon Coupe 21-6 Noel Whitaker


FINAL Callum Wraight 21-17 Simon Coupe


Previous Winners:

2020 - Chris Mordue bt David May 21-14

2019 - Scott Fisher bt Joe Cranston 21-14

2018 - Ashley Daykin bt James Higgins 21-20

2017 - Liam Griffin bt Gareth Coates 21-20

2016 - Wayne Moseley bt Harry Seehra 21-18

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page