Huddersfield Ladies Merit 1999

Ladies Week


August 1999: Ladies Afternoon Merit

Elaine Lunn won the 1999 Ladies Merit after a 21-15 final win over Doris Dunning to chalk up a sixth victory in this prime competition. Lunn's great run in this competition stretches back over 27 years with the first being in 1972 followed by 1975, 1976, 1988 and 1993. Doris Dunning was the beaten finalist this time around although she had previously beaten Lunn twice in the final of this competition in 1995 and 1998 such has been the dominance of this pair over the years in this competition.

The 1999 version of this final saw the Linthwaite Hall bowler Elaine Lunn opened up a 15-10 lead before Dunning (Marsh United) fought back to level the match at 15-15 But Lunn stepped up a gear to win by a six-point gap to claim the £60 first prize. Dunning had built her success in the 1999 version by fighting back from losing positions in the earlier rounds - from 11-17 dowm against Diane Radcliffe (Cowcliffe Liberal) before running out the 21-19 quarter-final winner and then from 8-18 behind in the semi-final against Bridie Buckley in the semi-final before turning it around to win by two shots once again.

She couldn't do it a third time with Lunn running out the 21-15 victor which was the closest match of her run in claiming the 1999 title and trophy which was played at Lowerhouses Community Bowling Club.

The Huddersfield Examiner Managing Director Graham Mead holding the Examiner Trophy with Eileen Henry, the President of the Huddersfield Ladies League, flanked by the four semi-finalists (left to right) Doris Dunning, Kate Whitefoot, Bridie Buckley and the winner Elaine Lunn.

First Round: E.Lunn (Linthwaite Hall 21-11 J.Roper (Marsh United) J.Gee (Marsh United) 21-20 J.Singleton (Linthwaite Hall)

K.Whitefoot (Outlane) 21-9 J.Muff (Almondbury Con)

M.Haigh (Marsh United) 21-15 C.Kaye (Cowcliffe Liberal)

B.Buckley (Lockwood Con) 21-17 O.Cross (Marsh United)

A.Jennings (Marsh United) 21-3 M.Tipple (Marsh United)

D.Dunning (Marsh United) 21-15 B.Robinson (Outlane)

D.Radcliffe (Cowcliffe Liberal) 21-13 E.Woolterton (Cowcliffe Liberal)

Quarter-Finals: Lunn 21-11 Gee; Whitefoot 21-13 Haigh; Buckley 21-20 Jennings; Dunning 21-19 Radcliffe

Semi-Finals: Lunn 21-9 Whitefoot; Dunning 21-19 Buckley

FINAL: Lunn 21-15 Dunning

It is worthy of note that there were 7 Marsh United bowlers in the Last 16 stage and they are pictured alongside.

(Back Row from left): Jacqui Roper, Mary Tipple, Olive Cross, Doris Dunning

(Front row): Jean Gee, Anne Jennings and Marjorie Haigh (inset)

Thank you to The Huddersfield Examiner for permission to include the photographs.

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All