top of page

BCGBA Champion of Champions Final line up

Bowling News

The finalists in the Men’s and Ladies Champion of Champions will descend on Monk Sports & Social Club, Hillock Lane, Woolston, Warrington WA1 4NF over the last weekend in September to decide the 2022 champions. This will be the first time these championships will have been staged away from the iconic bowls venue of the Waterloo Hotel in Blackpool.

On Saturday, September 24, the men’s Champions of Champions will be staged – the competition is made up of major winners from the men’s bowls circuit. Two previous winners of the event in the field are Simon Coupe (2014) and Callum Wraight (2015) and both will be strongly fancied to add to their previous titles. There is the intriguing prospect that Wraight could meet Greg Smith, winner of the Spring Waterloo, in the final as they have been drawn in opposite sides of the draw. A previous semi-final between the two in 2017 has gone down in Champions of Champions folklore as one of the greatest games of the competition’s history.

Stephen Glover (Isle of Man September Festival winner) will be hoping to use his green knowledge on the day as he has previously played for Monks Sports. If he does take the title, he would also see his name go alongside his father’s name on the trophy as Terry won the event in 2013. There are still two spaces to be taken in event as the winners of the Waterloo and Talbot Trophies are yet to be decided.

Both events start at 10am and entry is £10 for the men’s event and £5 for the women’s. There will be refreshments served throughout the day

The full draw for the men's competition is below.

MEN – Saturday 24th September – 10am

Josh Bunting (Merseyside Merit) v Gareth Herbert (Staffordshire Merit)

Andy Proctor (BCGBA Jack & Jean Isherwood Veterans Championship) v Stuart Nash (North Midlands)

Callum Wraight (BCGBA Senior Individual Merit) v David Bradford (Isle of Man Merit)

Alex Hassall (Midland Masters Merit) v Ryan Clark (Brighouse Classic)

Chris Kelly (Sandal Classic) v Leighton Roberts (Wharton Cons Open)

David Lloyd (Shropshire) v Jack Dyson (Yorkshire Merit)

Ryan Prosser (British Parks Merit) v Richard Gill (Derbyshire Merit)

Simon Coupe (Pudsey Classic) v Ryan P Williams (BCGBA Junior Individual Merit)

Paul Evans (2021 George Masters) v Lee Kington (Warwick & Worcester Merit)

Ian Booth (Hillcrest Classic) v Jack Hargreaves (Greater Manchester Merit)

Billy Speed (Lancashire Merit) v Talbot Trophy Winner

Andrew Whitaker (South Yorkshire Merit) v Ben Harris (Castle Private Open)

Tom Vickers (Cheshire Merit) v Josh Towey Potteries & District Merit)

Ian France (Cumbria Merit) v Greg Smith (Spring Waterloo)

Autumn Waterloo Winner v Stephen Glover (Isle of Man September Festival)

Ian M Jones (Welsh Merit) v James Wilcox (Isle of Man June Festival)

152 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page