Inter-District &

Hickson Trophy

The Inter-District involves the eight area 16-man teams meeting each other once over the summer season. Teams of eight play each other home and away on the same date with a complicated scoring system with a total of 56 points be won each two-legged match.


We have an enviable record in this competition having won it 14 times over the 28 years that it has been held and we are the current holders of the 'Famous Grouse Trophy' awarded by %%%%%% the original competition sponsors.


2019  Huddersfield

2018  Halifax

2017  Bradford

2016  Halifax

2015  Bradford

2014  Huddersfield

2013  Halifax

2012  Huddersfield

2011  Huddersfield 

2010  Huddersfield

2009  Huddersfield

2008  Huddersfield

2007  Huddersfield

2006  Huddersfield

2005  Huddersfield

2004  West Riding

2003  Huddersfield

2002  Huddersfield

2001  West Riding

2000  Huddersfield

1999  Castleford

1998  Bradford

1997  Castleford

1996  Huddersfield

1995  Castleford

1994  Huddersfield

1993  Castleford

1992  West Riding



The Hickson Trophy was first contested in 1989.
The format of the competition has remained unchanged since then and is a
straight knock-out tournament held on a single day involving
eight representative teams from towns in South and West Yorkshire.
The eight towns take it in turn to host the event which is played on
seven different greens with no green being played on more than once.

Huddersfield was scheduled to host the 2020 competition to coincide with its 50th Anniversary celebrations but obviously COVID-19 intervened causing its cancellation.

We await confirmation that Huddersfield is to be awarded the 2021 competition.

Year            Winners                     Captain 

1989.          Spen Valley.               F Calvert

1990.          Spen Valley.               F Calvert

1991.           Castleford.                 C Jones

1992.          Castleford.                 G Lawson

1993.          Castleford.                  J Winter

1994.          Castleford.                  R Ridgeway

1995.          Castleford.                  R Watson

1996.           Huddersfield.             F C Hey

1997.           Castleford.                  R Watson

1998.           Huddersfield.             H Haigh

1999.           North Kirklees.           A Clough

2000.          Sheffield.                    R H Jackson

2001.           Sheffield.                    R H Jackson

2002.          Huddersfield.             B Jones

2003.          Sheffield.                    R H Jackson

2004.          Castleford.                  P Holleran

2005.          Sheffield.                    R H Jackson

2006.          Huddersfield.             F Greenwood

2007.           Huddersfield.            F Greenwood

2008.           Sheffield.                   R H Jackson

2009.           Sheffield.                   R H Jackson

2010.            Huddersfield.            F Greenwood

2011.             Bradford.                   T Brockton & K Green

2012.            Huddersfield.            F Greenwood

2013.            Halifax.                       M Griffiths & P Collins

2014.            BDR.                           I Roddis

2015.            Bradford.                   T Brockton & B Hutchinson

2016.            Bradford.                    P Hillam

2017.            Bradford.                    P Hillam

2018             Sheffield                    M Hobson

2019             Huddersfield             M Cox & M Gilbert

2020            No competition - COVID-19

BDR = Barnsley, Doncaster & Rotherham combined team